MY PUPPY SKYE

Hi everybody. I’ve just come back from a long walk taking photographs for my “This is how we live now” project. My dog Skye was insistent on going with me, so there I was desperately hanging on to her lead while trying to manoeuver the camera one-handed.  As you can imagine this made taking photographs a little tricky and perilous to say the least!.

In addition to taking photographs of rubbish, electricity pylons, motorways etc, I couldn’t resist taking some of Skye and am including these and some others taken when she was very, very young in the blog. I find her infinitely interesting and amusing and I hope to share this with you.  As you can see, Skye is a Bichon Frise and is four and a bit months old now.  We have had her for about 2 months.  When we first bought her home we were under the impression that she was quiet, shy and timid.  We soon learnt our mistake!

She looks so angelic and sweet, with her face turned to look at us with an inquisitive light in her eyes.  She is so curious about the world and about everything, she seems to be constantly reacting to everything that happens, turning at the slightest sound. Although I’ve had other dogs  Skye is totally unique! She is more vocal than any dog I have met, with more sounds and noises than seems possible.  Most might find that annoying but I find it sweet.  Her groomers commented that she is unbelievably vocal and had to cover the cage with a blanket to quieten her!  She is also very affectionate and loving, to the degree of actually being a nuisance at times.  She is always underfoot and we always have to be careful not to trip over her. One of her funniest tricks is standing on her back legs pawing at the air,  She does this a lot and stays on her hind legs for a long time!

However she can be a real pain!  She is a bundle of energy that never stops.  She chews everything that she can get hold of.  We bought her dozens of chew toys but she ignores them all in favour of my trainers.  Nothing is safe from her teeth!  Bags have to be placed high up on tables to stop her demolishing the zips.  She is constantly walking around with some item of clothing dangling from her mouth.  She has a grip like iron!  She excels at tug of war, hanging on doggedly and even growling at us to let go.  And she knows she has gotten something she shouldn’t have as she goes running under the dining room table with items to keep them away from us.  She also clings to clothes we wear so as we walk from room to room we have a little puppy clinging to our clothes, getting dragged along behind us!  She has these facial expressions that are sometimes sweet and angelic and at other times are full of mischief.

 I tried to capture her spirit on camera and communicate her nature, behaviour and traits to others.  I hope to regularly take photographs of her development so that I can document her progress from puppy to adult. Below are photographs of her from when we first had her till now, showing I hope. different aspects of her personality.  I hope you will enjoy these as I enjoy looking at them.

IMG_0236

IMG_0191

IMG_0199

IMG_0224

IMG_0240

IMG_1234

IMG_1326

IMG_1328

IMG_1331

IMG_1332

IMG_1338

IMG_1183

IMG_1203

IMG_1215

IMG_1252

IMG_1343

I am pleased with the photographs as they show Skye’s personality very well.

Update

I was given an assignment to do today to make a short video but as I haven’t done much filming before I decided to practice on my favourite character, my pesky puppy Skye!  So I took a film of her in the back garden being encouraged to do what she always does whenever out there-to jump up high in the air and walk on her back legs.  I will include the video clip soon hope you can wait

Leave a comment